How To “unfriend” a Facebook friend without really unfriending them

1) Block downers from your news feed

you can completely block updates from that downer of a friend in just a few clicks:

  • Again, hover your mouse over the friend’s name on their timeline or in your news feed, then wait for the window with their profile photo to appear.
  • When it does, hover your mouse over the Following button, then select “Unfollow [name of friend].”
  • Using the Facebook app for iOS or Android? Find an update for a friend in your news feed, tap the little downward arrow in the corner of the update, then tap “Unfollow [name of friend].”
  • Last but not least, enjoy the silence.

Note: You can unfollow whole batches of friends using the Facebook app for Android and iOS. Tap the More button (in the bottom-right corner of the screen for iOS, or the top-right corner for Android), scroll down and tap News Feed Preferences, tap “Unfollow people to hide their posts,” then start tapping faces.

 

2) Banish a frenemy to your Restricted list

Once you banish someone to your Restricted list, they’ll no longer see any of your updates, photos, or other Facebook activity—or at least, nothing that you haven’t flagged as “Public” in your privacy settings.

In other words, putting a frenemy on your Restricted list is as close as you can get to unfriending someone without actually unfriending them.

Here’s how you do it:

  • Once more, hover your mouse over their name in your news feed or on their timeline, wait for the pop-up window to appear, then click the Friends button.
  • Select “Add to another list” from the menu, scroll all the way down, then click Restricted.

Note: While Facebook won’t notify a friend that you’ve put them on your Restricted list, an eagle-eyed frenemy may well notice that they’re not seeing your “friends only” updates anymore. Also, you’ll still have to “unfollow” people on your Restricted list to keep their Facebook updates out of your news feed.